Skip to main content

Set up automatic investments for your HSA

Learn how to activate Auto Invest so you can put your HSA investment strategy on cruise control.

Do you know what you regularly want to invest your HSA funds in? Auto Invest automatically invests any funds that exceed your target cash balance into investments you choose, moving money from your HSA balance into your selected investments once you're above that target.

Your target cash balance is the amount you want to keep available for qualified medical expenses. Once Auto Invest is activated, any funds above that target are automatically invested every business day.

Investment account needed to auto invest

The Auto Invest feature is possible with an investment account. To learn how to open an investment account, read “Start Investing Your HSA Funds.”

Set up Auto Invest

Here’s how to set up Auto Invest:

  • Select the Investments tab.

  • Select Set Up Auto Invest.

  • Enter your preferred amount for the target cash balance.

  • Select your preferred investments.

  • Allocate your investment percentages until they reach 100%

  • Select Activate Auto Invest.

Investment Threshold

If your plan has an investment threshold, your target cash balance can't be set lower than that amount. Investment thresholds are determined by your administrator.

How Auto Invest works, an example

Let’s say you set your target cash balance at $2,000, and after your next pay period, your HSA has a balance of $2,500. At the start of the next market day, that excess $500 will be automatically invested in your selected investments based on the percentages you’ve allocated. You have three selected investments: X for 30%, Y for 50%, and Z for 20%. $150 would be allocated to X, $250 would be allocated to Y, and $100 would be allocated to Z.

Manage your Auto Invest settings

You can customize your Auto Invest settings at any time, remove or add selected investments, update allocation percentages, or stop Auto Invest entirely.

There's no cap on how many investments you can select for Auto Invest. However, only up to ten can display on screen at once, if you select more than ten, the ten you hold the most shares in will populate first.

How to remove an investment in Auto Invest

If you’d like to remove a specific or multiple specific investments without stopping Auto Invest entirely, follow these steps.

How to remove an investment in Auto Invest:

  • Select the Investments tab.

  • Select Manage in the Auto Invest section.

  • Remove a selected investment by selecting the delete icon.

  • Readjust remaining selected investments so that the investment percentages reach 100%

  • Select Save Changes.

How to adjust your allocation percentages

Changing how much of your available investment funds are allocated to each of your selected investments is simple.

  • Select the Investments tab.

  • Select Manage in the Auto Invest section.

  • Adjust your selected investments so that the investment percentages reach 100%

  • Select Save Changes.

How to stop Auto Invest

  • Select the Investments tab.

  • Select Manage in the Auto Invest section.

  • Select Stop Auto Invest.

  • Select Stop Auto Invest from the pop-up.

Manual re-entry once deleted

Stopping Auto Invest clears your allocation settings. You'll need to re-enter everything manually to start again.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if a selected investment is no longer supported?

If one of your selected investments is removed from the list of supported investments, Auto Invest stops working for that allocation. You'll receive an email alerting you to the change, and you'll need to manually remove it.

What happens if I sell an investment that’s selected for Auto Invest?

Selling doesn't automatically remove that investment from your Auto Invest selections. You'll need to manually remove it yourself.

Sold an investment? Turn off Auto Invest first

If you sell a selected investment but don't remove it from Auto Invest (or turn Auto Invest off), your next excess cash balance could automatically get reinvested into your existing allocation, including back into the investment you just sold. If you want to keep those funds as cash instead, update your Auto Invest settings or turn it off first.

Did this answer your question?